Skip to content
Ceredigion Counts — Ceredigion, in numbers.Local help →

Ceredigion, in numbers

People and living standards

Ceredigion council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Ceredigion council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 65,933 in 1991 to 72,696 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Ceredigion council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 70,609 people in 1996; 72,696 people in 2025. 3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,933
199267,536
199368,854
199469,937
199570,818
199670,609
199771,807
199872,518
199974,046
200074,942
200175,417
200275,500
200375,581
200475,775
200575,485
200675,342
200775,326
200874,971
200974,642
201075,217
201175,293
201276,215
201376,087
201475,197
201573,724
201672,900
201772,220
201871,291
201970,639
202071,421
202170,676
202272,111
202372,731
202472,726
202572,696
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Ceredigion council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,484 people in 1996; 9,843 people in 2025. 21.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,037
199212,324
199312,534
199412,656
199512,735
199612,484
199712,515
199812,562
199912,822
200012,851
200112,787
200212,475
200312,250
200412,093
200511,926
200611,805
200711,671
200811,437
200911,299
201011,233
201111,165
201211,096
201311,006
201410,918
201510,775
201610,663
201710,568
201810,458
201910,262
202010,142
202110,058
202210,229
20239,987
20249,985
20259,843
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Ceredigion council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,750 people in 1996; 43,259 people in 2025. 3.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199141,296
199242,388
199343,332
199444,125
199544,803
199644,750
199745,789
199846,227
199947,479
200048,252
200148,579
200248,790
200348,965
200449,188
200548,937
200648,887
200748,825
200848,486
200948,013
201048,342
201148,353
201248,774
201348,418
201447,304
201545,836
201644,897
201744,077
201843,174
201942,531
202043,064
202142,105
202243,129
202343,690
202443,542
202543,259
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Ceredigion council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,375 people in 1996; 19,594 people in 2025. 46.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,600
199212,824
199312,988
199413,156
199513,280
199613,375
199713,503
199813,729
199913,745
200013,839
200114,051
200214,235
200314,366
200414,494
200514,622
200614,650
200714,830
200815,048
200915,330
201015,642
201115,775
201216,345
201316,663
201416,975
201517,113
201617,340
201717,575
201817,659
201917,846
202018,215
202118,513
202218,753
202319,054
202419,199
202519,594
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 71,473 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ceredigion · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,0961.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3660.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8671.2%
White68,77696.2%
Other ethnic group3680.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 75,922 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ceredigion · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White73,44396.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7361%
Asian/Asian British1,0991.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2660.4%
Other ethnic group3780.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 74,941 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Ceredigion · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White73,90498.6%
Mixed3970.5%
Asian/Asian British2720.4%
Black/Black British1150.2%
Chinese/Other2530.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 18.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Ceredigion council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,326 per person in 1997; £21,186 per person in 2024. 127.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,326
19989,405
19999,309
20008,906
20019,351
20029,728
200310,059
200410,516
200510,928
200611,860
200711,704
200812,400
200912,748
201012,991
201113,292
201213,445
201313,570
201414,093
201514,614
201615,004
201715,622
201816,371
201917,136
202017,413
202118,374
202218,801
202319,942
202421,186
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Ceredigion council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.1% in 1997; -18.4% in 2024. 6.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Ceredigion council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.1
1998-13.1
1999-17.7
2000-25.2
2001-24.4
2002-23.1
2003-22.8
2004-22.5
2005-22.3
2006-19
2007-23.7
2008-21.3
2009-20.4
2010-19.6
2011-18.4
2012-20.4
2013-22.5
2014-22.1
2015-23.2
2016-22.1
2017-20.7
2018-19.8
2019-18.7
2020-17
2021-15.9
2022-18.1
2023-18.4
2024-18.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

49.1%

21 March 2021 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.2%

21 March 2021 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.7%

21 March 2021 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.1%

21 March 2021 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£235,000

July 2026 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£723

August 2026 · Ceredigion council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.